Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Week 7, Day 1

on February 10, 2009

I am back to training after my first race.  It is 70 degrees outside and I have never run in weather this warm.  It is a big change.  I don’t have any running shorts so I went out today in my running pants and dri-fit tank top.  It wasn’t too long into my run when I realized how hot my legs were.  I may have to make a run over to Dick’s tomorrow and get some shorts!  I think it is going to be really warm on Thursday too and running in pants again is not something I want to do.

The run itself was a bit of a challenge today.  I am trying to run for distance, but I will track how long I am running too since that is one of the factors of the couch to 5k program.  I think I am having one of those weeks where I slide back a little bit before moving forward.  Finding my zone was very difficult today and I think the temp. outside played a part in that.  My legs actually got tired about 3/4 of a mile into the run which surprised me.  I was able to power through though and made it about a 1.25 miles before I took a walk break.  The break was short, probably around a minute long.  Getting going again was rough and I had to take another break a few minutes later, which was about another minute.  I was finally able to get into a rhythm after that and did a good stretch of about a half mile.

My total distance today was 2.09 miles.  

First running stretch was about 15 minutes – 1.25 miles

The rest was a combo of a little walking and running – .84 mile – 16 minutes

I was having a hard time finding my pace today too.  I felt like I was trying to run too fast.  Not sure what that was about.

Leave a Reply

