Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Week 6, Day 3

on February 5, 2009

Victory!  I ran 2.2 miles today with no walking!  

Day 3 of Week 6 is a 25 minute run with no walking.  My intent as I set out today was to just run for distance not for time.  I figured I would go as far as I could and would walk when I needed to walk.  I created a new little playlist for myself and out I went into the freezing cold (it is 30 degrees outside – brrrr!).  I continued with my method of looking at the pavement 10 feet in front of me and focusing on my music.  During the run I never felt the need to stop, I was able to control my breathing and my legs just took over.  It was awesome!  It seemed like the day would never come that I would be able to run continuously without walking and I am still a little shocked that I can do it.

I hope that the Krispy Kreme race goes well on Saturday.  I am going to take it easy and focus on finishing rather than time or anything else.  The race is 4 miles and since the most I have done is 2 I will space out my running to conserve energy.  

There are still 3 more weeks of the Couch to 5K program and I have 3 weeks to the 5K!  The rest of the of the program is about increasing time and distance and you don’t run intervals anymore.  So, I guess I will just focus on distance as much as I can over the next few weeks and try to stretch my 2.2 miles into 3.1 miles.

Week 7 of the program is to jog 2.5 miles or 25 minutes all 3 days.

Leave a Reply

