Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Week 6, Day 2 – again ;).

on February 3, 2009

I finally had a run where I wasn’t talking myself into moving my legs.  I noticed on Sunday that when I was just looking at the road directly in front of me instead of off into the distance I could zone out more.  When I was looking at the hills looming ahead I would start to dread them way before I even got there.  That makes for a very loooong run and a hill steeper than it actually is.  Today I focused on the 10 or so feet in front of me and I was able to concentrate on the music and my form.  It made for a much more pleasant run.  I even stretched my second 10 minute run into a 12 minute run :D.  So my total running time today was 22 minutes with a 3 minute walk after the first 10 minutes.  I have decided to do the Krispy Kreme Challenge on Saturday for some crazy reason.  We will see how running 4 miles goes considering I have only ever run 2 and never all at once.  I don’t care if I have to walk some of it and I know I will.  I am just looking forward to the thrill of the first race!

First 10 minute run – .92 mile

Second 12 minute run – 1 mile

Total routine with walking – 2.65 miles

Pretty good distances there.  I have hope that I will be able to run the whole 5K on the 28th now!

One response to “Week 6, Day 2 – again ;).

  1. gabrielle says:

    Good luck this weekend! Running in a race is a lot more fun than just running for practice, I think. Plus, free bagels! 😉

    At this rate, I think you will be able to run the whole 3 miles on the 28th. That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

