Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Week 6, Day 1

on January 31, 2009

I am calling this Day 1 of Week 6, but I didn’t actually do the Day 1 run.  For some reason I just had to push myself again when I should have just followed the program.  Instead of doing Day 1 I did Day 2 which is 10 min. run/3 min. walk/10 min. run.

First of all I was on the fence about running today, but decided to go ahead since I took my running clothes to work.  As I set out I told myself I was going to do Day 1, then when I started running I thought maybe I would do Day 2 if I still felt like I wanted to keep going when the first 5 minutes were completed (the Day 1 run has a 5 min. interval to start).  Well, when podcast guy told me that the first 5 minutes were up for Day 1 I felt good and wanted to keep going so I did.  I was actually still feeling pretty good when he came on and said the 10 minute run was up.  I decided to stop at that point though.  I wasn’t about to try for the 25 minute run that is Day 3.  I did my 3 minute walk and when I started up for my second 10 minute run I did okay in the beginning.  When I hit about the 5 minute in mark I started to struggle.  I get to this point where I have to tell myself to just keep moving my legs and concentrate on my breathing.  I knew I just had to push through the barrier and was able to complete my second 10 min. run. 

For some strange reason I started thinking about the movie The Chocolate War which has nothing to do with running.  However, it does have this Kate Bush song called “Running Up That Hill.”  The chorus is –

And if I only could, 
I’d make a deal with God, 
And I’d get him to swap our places, 
Be running up that road, 
Be running up that hill, 
Be running up that building. 
Say, If I only could, oh… 

I could not get this out of my head when I was running.  I haven’t heard this song in years!  It was so burned into my brain that I had to download it on itunes when I got back to my office.  I think I will have to make a new playlist and include this song ;).

Anyway, back to running.  I have gotten off track with the couch to 5k program and started going willy nilly doing what I wanted to which was probably a bit dumb.  I will start Week 6 in the proper fashion by doing Day 1 on Sunday.  I know there is a reason the program has you doing interval training again after the 20 minute run.  You aren’t supposed to jump straight into the longer runs.  Your body has to build up to it.  I know this in the logical part of my brain but when I get out there to run I just want to leap forward and then get pissed when my body won’t let me.  Stupid, I know.  I have even looked at training programs for half marathons and stuff and even those have you take a step back before you take a step forward.

Karl is right.  I need to appreciate my accomplishment up to this point.  I still remember feeling like I was going to DIE when I was doing 60 second intervals.  My runner friends keep telling me it will come and I know they wouldn’t lie to me, right?  ;).

Leave a Reply

