Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Week 5, Day 6

on January 28, 2009

The 20 minute run saga continues.  I think I may just have to move on to Week 6.  I am actually probably done with Day 1 and Day 2 of Week 6 considering I am still doing interval training while trying to run 20 minutes straight.  I know that Day 3 of Week 6 is a 25 minute run.  I know I could do that on a nice flat treadmill :).  Kinda funny that I feel like I can say that when I never thought it was possible in the beginning.  The outdoors is my nemesis, well hills really.  If I was running on flat land I think I could run the 20 – 25 minutes straight.

On today’s run I ran for 14 minutes the first segment and then took a 3.5 minute walk break and finished with another 8.5 minute run.  I mapped my run with the handy little website Leigh told me about http://www.mapmyrun.com and I ran for 2 miles!  I ran a little over a mile on my first segment.  At least I am making progress on that front.

I think I will do Day 1 of Week 6 next so I can change up my routine.  The 20 minute run eluding me is getting frustrating and I need to do something different.    

Week 6, Day 1 – Run 5 min./walk 3 min./run 8 min./walk 3 min./run 5 min.

Week 6, Day 2 – Run 10 min./walk 3 min./run 10 min

Week 6, Day 3 – Run 25 min.

One response to “Week 5, Day 6

  1. gabrielle says:

    You ran for 2 miles!!! That’s awesome, regardless of whether it was all at once or not. And you’ve got a whole month before the race- plenty of time to work your way into 20 minutes, then 25, then 30, and before you know it, you’ll be running 3.1 miles, no problem. 🙂

Leave a Reply

