Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Week 5, Day 5

on January 26, 2009

I think I have hit a bit of a mental wall.  I am struggling with form, breathing and motivation.  My mental battle is with just getting out there and doing what I can do today without getting caught up in the amount of time I am running and why I can’t do what I have previously done.  Previously, my success has helped me push to get over the next hurdle.  Now I feel like I have set an expectation of what my body can do and when it doesn’t cooperate I get frustrated.  Something I read on Leigh’s blog is so very true – “Your enemy is expectation.  Your ally is detachment.”  I need the chant that to myself before I go for a run.

My run today was better than Saturday, but still not what I was expecting it to be :P.  I was able to run for 10 minutes and then I took a walk break (almost 4 min.) and I was perfectly okay with that.  The second half was another story.  I ran for about 4 min and then had to take another walk break (2 min.).  Then I ran for 8 and 1/2 minutes which I didn’t realize until just now when I was looking at my song lengths.  So, maybe not as bad as I had originally thought.  I think I may be trying to run too fast in the beginning and it is making me tire out faster than I normally would.  I will try slowing down a bit and see if it helps.  My quest for a full 20 minute run outside continues…

One response to “Week 5, Day 5

  1. Karl says:

    look how far you’ve come! When I was running a few years ago it was very random how my endurance would fluctuate session by session. It’s not a straight line up, you’ll fall back some before you break out again.

Leave a Reply

