Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Week 5, Day 3

on January 22, 2009

I ran for 20 whole minutes!!!  Woot!  

I hit the treadmill with Holly today and in the beginning thought about taking a break at the 10 minute mark.  I even set up a little ding noise in my playlist around 10 minutes into the run so I knew when I was halfway.  Once I got to the halfway mark though I said I would just run through the next song.  One of my most favorite songs in the world is Free by Phish and when it started playing I just felt a wave of energy wash over me.  In that moment I felt like I could run forever and I had no doubt that I could run the whole 20 minutes.  Having my own music to listen to made all the difference in the world.  Listening to the music I love keeps my mind from focusing on the time.

 I started out with an incline of 1%, but had to get rid of it about 5 minutes in.  I kept my pace of 4.7 mph the whole time though and I never once felt out of breathe.  

Before I move on to Week 6 I am going to conquer running 20 minutes outside.  Doing it on the treadmill is a major accomplishment, but when I can do it outside I will be even happier.

Yay me!  I am Free :).

This is the song “Free”

One response to “Week 5, Day 3

  1. gabrielle says:

    That’s great! I hope the outside running goes well, too. Do you have a treadmill at home, or do you hit the gym for inside running? I ask because I am tentatively considering getting a used treadmill so that I can run even when I can’t physically leave the house, so I’m looking for recommendations. 🙂

Leave a Reply

