Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Week 5, Day 2

on January 19, 2009

8 minute runs.  Time is a funny thing.  Sometimes it goes by in a blink and sometimes it crawls by.  3 minutes seemed like forever and then 5 minutes  was an eternity.  Now 3 minutes is a flash and 5 minutes isn’t that bad.  I thought 8 minutes would seem like a lifetime and if I had been on a treadmill it probably would have been.  Being outside seems to help time move at a normal pace.  Setting a distance goal or telling myself to “just run up this hill” helps in a way I can’t describe.  Saying I am gonna go for X more seconds or minutes just makes that time go by so much slower and that is really all you can do when you are on a treadmill.

I thought running for 8 minutes was crazy talk just a few short weeks ago.  That was also when running for 90 seconds made me want to fall over and die.  Today I manged to complete both of my 8 minute runs and I was running outside!  The first one got pretty tough near the end because I was going up a hill.  I actually did stop before the podcast man told me to, but he came on like two seconds after I stopped and said I was done :).  The 5 minute walk was definitely needed at that point.  The second 8 minute run was a bit of a struggle from the start.  I felt kinda tired when I started it, but kept telling myself that I could run for at least 5 minutes of it since I had done that many times before.  So, I trudged on and started to get into a bit of a groove when I got my halfway notice from podcast man.  I was actually surprised that I was already halfway done.  I had set a distance goal in my head when I started the run and just told myself to get to that point.  The funny thing is when my goal came into sight I got my 1 minute left notice.  I knew I could make my legs go for at least 60 more seconds and my breathing wasn’t wildly out of control.  And then I was done and it was awesome!

Based on my first 8 minute run and what a struggle it was to complete it I don’t think I can do the 20 minute run the first time out of the gate.  I think a good goal is to go for 10 minutes and take a walk break if I need it and then go for another 10.  If the weather is okay I will attempt Day 3 (the 20 minute run) on Wednesday.  The jump to 20 minutes just seems so crazy, but I have read so many posts on coolrunning.com from people that have done it and it was shocking to them too.  I know it can be done.  I know I will be able to do it.  It scares me though.  I have come this far and never in a million years thought that I would make it to this point.  A little fear is healthy though.  When you get past it the accomplishment just means that much more.

Leave a Reply

