Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Week 4, Day 5

on January 14, 2009

You know that burn that you get when you are breathing hard and it is cold outside.  The searing pain that radiates in your throat and down into your lungs?  That doesn’t happen to me anymore and it is freezing cold outside.  What does this mean?  Am I becoming a runner?  I must say that I am happy that I don’t have that problem anymore cause it sucked.

Well I am proud to say that today’s run went very well.  I was amazed at how quickly the time seemed to go by with the runs today compared to Monday.  The first 5 minute run seemed a bit long, but strangely the second 5 minute run seemed to go by rather quickly.  You would think it would be the opposite.  

I started to have some cramping in my calves and that is a first.  I don’t know if I am just not stretching them enough or what.  It could be the terrain in the office park.  The sidewalks are extremely uneven and a little bit hazardous cause there are freakin’ acorns everywhere.  I keep waiting to slide on an acorn and fly into the air and land flat on my back (like when a cartoon character slips on a banana peel).

I think I am ready to move on to Week 5.  I know I said this about Week 4, but Week 5 looks really scary!  The first day I think I can handle it is Day 2 and 3 that seem a bit insane.  Week 5 goes like this :

Day 1:  Warm up, 5 min. run, 3 min walk, 5 min. run, 3 min. walk, 5 min. run and cool down.

Day 2:  Warm up, 8 min. run, 5 min. walk, 8 min. run and cool down.

Day 3:  Warm up, 20 min. run with no walking!!!

Yeah, crazy right.  I think Day 2 is doable.  I mean right now I am running 3 min. and 5 min. with just a 90 second break.  I do love those 90 seconds, but I think I can run 8 minutes on flat terrain right now if I really put my mind to it.  Now, jumping from that to running 20 minutes seems downright nutty.

Maybe I will give Day 1 a shot and see how it goes and do that a couple times before I move on to Day 2.  I may hit the treadmills tomorrow with Holly.  We’ll see how crazy I am feeling when I get there.  If I don’t that means that Day 1 of Week 5 will be on Saturday and that means outside running in the land of hills, aka my neighborhood.

2 responses to “Week 4, Day 5

  1. Carl says:

    This sounds like a good training schedule, the key is sticking to it. I followed something similar for the marathon training.

  2. Janet says:

    Day three looks like a bitch. Good for you you’re getting so healthy. Good luck, I know it’ll bring you great satisfaction when you accomplish your goal! JPM

Leave a Reply

