Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Week 4, Day 4

on January 12, 2009

Success!  I completed all the runs today!

I was not in the mood to run today at all.  My body feels like someone beat me up.  We went to New Bern this past weekend to go to a birthday party and slept on our air mattress.  Apparently getting older means that you can’t sleep on those things anymore without feeling a lot of pain afterwards.  On top of that I got very little sleep on Saturday night and don’t think I have fully recovered from that yet.

Anyway, I dragged my butt outside because I knew I just needed to give it the old college try.  I fully expected to not complete either 5 minute run.  I surprised myself when I was able to finish the first 5 minutes.  It was a push, but I didn’t feel like I couldn’t breathe when I was done so that was awesome.  The second 3 minute run seemed more difficult and I thought that since I had finished the first 5 minute run I would be okay with having to stop short of finishing the second 5 minutes.  However, when I started the second 5 minute run I kept setting distances for myself to hit before I would stop.  As I was nearing the point where I was going to stop podcast guy said I had 1 minute left in the run.  No point in stopping when I just had 60 seconds left to go!  I managed to finish.  I was jogging very slowly at the end, but at this point I don’t care about speed.

The office park is more forgiving than my neighborhood I think.  The hills are little shorter so you can run up one side fairly quickly and then get a little recovery on the down slope.  The grade of the hills seems much more gradual too.  

Week 4 continues on Wednesday.  My goal is to finish stronger on that last run.

One response to “Week 4, Day 4

  1. gabrielle says:

    Woo Hoo! I’m so happy for you!

    And I’m right there with you re: speed: it really doesn’t matter, it’s being healthy and finishing strong.

    You’re gonna be sooo ready by February 28th! 🙂

Leave a Reply

