Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Week 4, Day 2

on January 8, 2009

The 5 minute runs today seemed like an eternity.  I tried pushing myself a little more this time.  I set the incline to 1 but had to go back to 0 after the first 3 minute run.  I knew I would have run out of steam before the last 5 minute run if I had left it at a 1.  I bumped my speed up to 4.8 and could feel the difference.  The last 5 minute run was quite the mental battle compared to last time.  I was trying really hard to make myself think of anything but the time, but it just wasn’t working.  All I kept thinking was when is the guy going to tell me I have 1 minute left!  Haven’t I been doing this for at least 4 minutes now!  Overall, it wasn’t the best run or the worst.  I think running outside on Saturday is going to be a big challenge.  If I am not able to complete all of my runs outside on Saturday then I will not move on to Week 5 until I can.

One thing that is killing me right now is the constant hunger!  I don’t think I am eating enough protein since I get hungry again so quickly after eating.  I am craving not good for you foods too and we have them in the kitchen at work.  Not a good thing.  I must bring more snacks to work so I can stay away from the junk food!

4 responses to “Week 4, Day 2

  1. Leigh says:

    you gotta eat 6 small meals a day- and you need carbs! like the good kind- baby carrots, red bell peppers, bananas, fruit. i am so proud of you! i was actually training for that in raleigh too, but it’s impossible to run in the snow.

  2. Leigh says:

    ps- i found http://www.mapmyrun.com to be a great resource! you can map different routes and see their distances etc. there are message boards adn other resources.

  3. gabrielle says:

    You are rockin’, girl! You are going to be soooo ready by the end of February. I recommend hummus for your healthy protein snack needs- there are lots of variations on it, there’s lots of protein in it, and you can dip anything in it: pita, vegetables, crackers, etc…

  4. Jenna says:

    Good lord! I never would have though that you would train for a 5k. It was so funny reading some of these blogs because before I read it I knew what you were going to say. I am so proud of you for doing this. Hopefully after your done you will feel such accomplishment you will stick with it. After this baby I am going to really try to get on a workout routine and stick with it. I don’t think it will involve running but definitly dieting and exercise. I am ready to live a more healthy life. I have been trying to eat healthy snacks during this pregnancy to keep off the extra weight. I am afraid this last month is going to get me. I was really small but now I feel huge and the numbers on the scale have jumped up! 4 more weeks!! Now I know why I haven’t heard a lot from you. Sorry I have been out of touch too. I am in the last 4 weeks of hating everything and not in the best of moods. I am so ready to get this baby out. UGH!!!! Good luck and we’ll talk soon!

Leave a Reply

