Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Week 4, Day 1

on January 6, 2009

Wohoo!  I didn’t die and I was so sure I was going to.  

The fear was still there before I went for my run today.  I thought there was no way I was going to be able to run all of the intervals this week.  There is a 5 minute warm up, 3 minute run, 90 second recovery, 5 minute run, 2 and 1/2 minute recovery, 3 minute run, 90 second recovery, 5 minute run and then the 5 minute cool down.  I am shocked that I can say I ran all of the intervals!  Granted I was on a treadmill and ran slowly, but I did it.  I was able to control my breathing the whole time and while I was tired after the last 5 minutes I was never gasping for air.  My recovery from the last 5 minute run was pretty quick and I even felt like I could do another run.  I finally feel like I am gaining some endurance.  

I think the treadmill is easier and I don’t think I would have been able to complete all the intervals running outside.  Hills are still not my friend.  I will be running on the treadmill again on Thursday and will increase the speed a little bit to try and prep myself for my run outside on Saturday.  I ran at 4.7 today to stick with my slow and steady method.  Maybe I can bump it up to 5.0 on Thursday.  I will at least try that for the 3 minute runs.

I should really try to make my own podcasts.  As the runs get longer I need something to take my mind off the time and the ones I am using by Robert Ullrey just aren’t doing it for me.  He is techno heavy and I just can’t get into it.  Plus the music he uses for week 4 is sloooow.  While it does help you pace yourself it is boring.  Off to find instructions to make my own…

Leave a Reply

