Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Week 3, Day 4

on January 3, 2009

I didn’t start week 4 today.  Part of it was out of fear and the rest was due to time and just not feeling ready.  I wanted to get my run in today, but we had a birthday party to go to at Noon and I knew I wouldn’t run after it.  I also don’t have the week 4 podcast on my iPod yet.  So, I figured I would just go ahead with another week 3 run and see how it went.  For some reason the run took a lot out of me.  The first 90 second jog was okay and the first 3 minute jog was okay.  The second 90 second jog was a bit of a push and the last 3 minute jog was pure hell.  I had to dig deep to keep moving my feet.  I was breathing hard and when the guy told me I had 1 minute left in the jog I thought I was going to fall over.  It took a lot of mental power to make myself finish.  When I did finish I was completely out of breath and practically gasping for air.  The good thing is I am noticing that I recover faster from my runs than I used to.  I have serious doubts about my readiness for 5 minute runs, but I am definitely going to give it a shot on Monday.

Leave a Reply

